Ending the R Word

4 03 2011

Can't wait for this again

So on Wed I was fortunate enough to be invited out to Cedar Ridge Middle School to participate in the Spread the Word to End the Word. It was a very cool event. I could not believe that the whole thing was organized by a 7th grade girl! I just want to say to Brinkli you did an amazing job of bringing awareness to your school about the R word!
She had a few of us from USU including my good buddy Big Blue go out to her school and talk to some of her fellow students. I only wish I was that organized and concerned about others when I was 13. It was a great experience to be able to go out and learn about the campaign that is being done to educate people on the effects of that word
I have always been a firm believer in using the R word. I always figured it never hurt anyone and it was only a bunch of over sensitive people getting offended. Then this past year I have been fortunate to become good friends with two wonderful women who are the co directors of group on campus called Best Buddies. These girls had been trying to get me to stop saying that word for a long time with no positive results. Then one day I was talking up on campus and I used the R word and one of my good friends who has special needs happened to walk by at that same time. He was cool about it but I knew that I hurt him. Since that time I have done my best not to say that horrible word.

My friend Katie


I know that it might seem weird coming from me that I am saying we need to be respectful to everyone, but I firmly believe that. There is only one group of people we don’t need to show respect to and that is BYU fans! Just kidding! I love you Kanalu!
Well spring break is upon us and I have friends going all over! From Australia to Oregon the Aggies will be all over the place. Perhaps the most concentrated group of Aggies will be in Las Vegas for the WAC Tourney! I am super excited to head down there and watch the boys win another WAC title! I will keep you all up to date on everything going on down there. If you are an Aggie fan find me down there and we can go grab some food or something! GO AGGIES
Aloha
Bill
p.s. Check out http://www.r-word.org and pledge not to use the R word. I did

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

